de\en
26. June — 14. August 2019

Smoke a Grid like Grapevine does

Eva Berendes
Ulrike Flaig
Sofia Hultén
Antonia Low
Barry Johnston
Sophie Nys
Tommy Støckel
Jaro Straub
Tim Tetzner
Shirley Tse
Albert Weis


Konrad Wachsmann (1901 Frankfurt/Oder - 1980 Los Angeles) was a German architect and engineer living in the USA. Wachsmann is widely considered as a pioneer of modular connection and construction systems with a special focus on universal construction processes. Wachsmann also taught at the IIT Institute of Design in Chicago, where in 1953 he and his students invented a construction element inspired by the vine tendril. Due possibly to its non-realizability, this hypothetical architectural design - titled Grapevine Structure - did not receive much attention for a long time.

Considering the high level of abstraction in the Grapevine Structure, the question remains to be answered whether Wachsmann and his students ever planned this particular design as a real architectural structure. Or is this structure without joints perhaps a metaphorical reference to the neuronal network of interpersonal relationships and its reciprocal impulse to manifest the transience of human action in the form of architecture?

Smoke a Grid like Grapevine does takes this utopian moment of Konrad Wachsmann's Grapevine Structure as a point of departure for a group exhibition beyond architectural paradigms. It establishes vice-versa connections to Wachsmann, enables artistic interventions and in this process repeatedly creates connection points whose junctions disappear again as quickly as the smoke of a Tareyton cigarette.

Konrad Wachsmann Project Part 1 curated by Ulrike Flaig, Tommy Støckel, Jaro Straub and Tim Tetzner

Opening:
Friday, June 26, 2020 | 6 - 10pm

Additional Opening Times:
Saturday, June 27, 2020 | 12am - 6pm

Exhibition: June 26 - August 14 2020
Saturdays 12am - 6pm & by Appointment

de\en
26. Juni — 14. August 2019

Smoke a Grid like Grapevine does

Eva Berendes
Ulrike Flaig
Sofia Hultén
Antonia Low
Barry Johnston
Sophie Nys
Tommy Støckel
Jaro Straub
Tim Tetzner
Shirley Tse
Albert Weis


Konrad Wachsmann (1901 Frankfurt/Oder - 1980 Los Angeles) war ein deutscher, in den USA lebender Architekt und Ingenieur. Wachsmann gilt als Pionier modularer Verbindungs- und Bausysteme und universeller Konstruktionsprozesse. Neben seiner Entwicklungstätigkeit unterrichtete Wachsmann u.a. am IIT Institute of Design in Chicago, wo er 1953 mit seinen Studenten ein von der Weinranke inspiriertes Konstruktionselement entwarf. Möglicherweise aufgrund seiner Nicht-Realisierbarkeit findet dieser hypothetische Architekturentwurf – betitelt Grapevine Structure – lange Zeit keine größere Beachtung.

Das Niveau von Abstraktion der Entwürfe lässt die Frage offen, ob Wachsmann und seine Studenten die Grapevine Structure jemals als architektonische Struktur geplant hatten. Oder handelt es sich bei dieser structure without joints eventuell um einen metaphorischen Verweis auf das neuronale Netz zwischenmenschlicher Beziehungen und dessen reziprokem Impuls, die Vergänglichkeit menschlichen Handelns in Form von Architektur zu manifestieren?

Smoke a Grid like Grapevine does nimmt das utopische Moment von Wachsmanns Grapevine Structure als Ausgangspunkt für eine Gruppenausstellung jenseits architektonischer Paradigmen, die gleichermaßen Verbindungen zu Wachsmann knüpft, künstlerische Interventionen ermöglicht, und dabei immer wieder Anschlussstellen herausbildet, deren Knotenpunkte sich so schnell wieder verflüchtigen wie der Rauch einer Tareyton Zigarette.

Konrad Wachsmann Project Part 1 kuratiert von Ulrike Flaig, Tommy Støckel, Jaro Straub und Tim Tetzner

Eröffnung:
Freitag, 26. Juni 2020 | 18h bis 22h

Zusätzliche Öffnungszeiten:
Samstag, 27. Juni 2020 | 12h bis 18h

Ausstellung vom 26. Juni - 14. August 2020
Samstags 12h - 18Uhr & nach Vereinbarung